What is credit risk?

Credit risk is the danger of a business or person failing to pay the balance they owe. Learn how to minimise credit risk with Atradius China +86 21 61608022.

Credit risk is a term applied to the dangers associated with lending anyone goods, services or money. It can be associated with the risk of a borrower failing to repay a loan, or a business failing to pay for goods or services it has received. Low risk customers are deemed most likely to pay based on an assessment of liquidity and payment history.

How to minimise credit risk

Minimising risk is an important part of any organisation’s approach to credit. At Atradius we recommend a combination of due diligence and credit insurance. To help support our customers’ own research, we provide a range of free publications including the quarterly Country Risk Map, which gives an overview of the level of trading risk associated with individual geographies.

Our suite of Credit-to-Cash Briefings are designed to support businesses with insight into many issues affecting trade and export, including tips on subjects such as how to complete a risk assessment of your account receivables and how to make efficient collection calls.

If your business reports according to the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), your credit risk provisioning processes must comply with the expected credit loss impairment principles that were introduced in January 2018. Learn more about IFRS9 Impairment Standard.

Credit Insurance is one of the most robust ways you can minimise credit risk, but it is not the only approach. Here are some examples.

Trade with a credit insurance policy. If your customer fails to pay, trade credit insurance safeguards your business with the guarantee that your insurer will pay you if your customer doesn’t. Learn more about Atradius Credit Insurance.

Insist on payment upfront. Demanding payment in advance or cash on delivery is one way to minimise credit risk. This approach can be much less attractive to potential customers, however, so you’ll need to liaise with your sales teams to find the right balance for your business.

Secure a Letter of Credit. Issued by your customer’s bank, this is a guarantee that they will meet the terms of the contract or invoice. The downside is that these can be expensive, usually require evidence before they’re honoured and you will need a new Letter of Credit for each invoice (which can cost a lot of time and money if you need security for many invoices). Learn more about Letters of Credit.

Outsource your invoices to a factor. Factoring companies buy your invoices from you and put in the work to chase any unpaid fees. They protect you from the risk of non-payment, but they also take a share of your profit by paying you less than the face-value of the invoice.

Gamble on self-insurance. As with all of the other credit risk reduction options, you should ideally start trading relationships by assessing your customers. Does their previous trading history or the geopolitical location of their business suggest potential payment issues? If yes, it may be safer to trade with a customer that presents fewer risks. However, even if the risks appear low this may still be a gamble as some businesses can go bankrupt with no warning.

Related content

How Can I Reduce DSO?

The most direct way to reduce DSO is to shorten your payment terms.

What is export credit insurance?

Export credit insurance operates in the same way as trade credit insurance and focuses specifically on trading relationships with customers based overseas.

How can I insure my export credit?

You can insure your export credit. Also called credit insurance, or trade credit insurance, the cover protects your accounts receivable from the risk of non-payment.

Disclaimer

The statements made herein are provided solely for general informational purposes and should not be relied upon for any purpose. Please refer to the actual policy or the relevant product or services agreement for the governing terms. Nothing herein should be construed to create any right, obligation or responsibility on the part of Atradius, including any obligation to conduct due diligence of buyers or on your behalf. If Atradius does conduct due diligence on any buyer it is for its own underwriting purposes and not for the benefit of the insured or any other person. Additionally, in no event shall Atradius and its related, affiliated and subsidiary companies be liable for any direct, indirect, special, incidental, or consequential damages arising out of the use of the statements made information herein.

什么是信用风险?

信用风险是一个术语,适用于将商品、服务或金钱借给任何人时的相关危险。

它可能与借款方未能偿还贷款的风险相关联,也可能与企业未能支付所获商品或服务的费用的风险相关联。低风险客户是根据对于流动资金和付款历史的评估,被认定最有可能付款的客户。

如何最大限度降低信用风险

在涉及赊销贸易的企业或组织来看,最大限度降低风险是很重要的一环。安卓推荐使用将尽职调查和信用保险结合的方法。为了支持客户自身进行调查,我们提供一系列免费刊物,包括季度版国家风险地图,其中概述了与各地理位置相关的贸易风险等级。

我们的系列信用与资金简报旨在为企业提供许多影响贸易和出口的问题的见解,包括各类话题的提示信息,例如如何完成应收账款的风险评估以及如何高效地拨打催收电话,以此为企业提供支持。

如果您的企业根据国际财务报告准则 (IFRS) 进行报告,您的信用风险准备流程必须符合 2018 年 1 月出台的预期信用损失减值原则的规定。了解 IFRS9 减值标准

信用保险是能够最大限度降低信用风险最强有力的方式之一,但不是唯一的方法。示例如下。

开展贸易时持有信用保险保单。如果您的客户无法付款,贸易信用保险能够保护您的企业,保险公司将在客户未能付款的情况下偿付相关款项。了解安卓信用保险

坚持要求提前付款。要求提前付款或货到付款可最大限度降低信用风险。不过,该方法可能会降低您对潜在客户的吸引力,因此您需要与销售团队合作为您的企业找到适当的平衡点。

获得信用证。信用证由客户的银行开具,保证客户遵守合同或发票的条款。缺点是信用证的费用可能会很高,通常需要提供凭证才能兑付,而且每张发票都要获得新的信用证(如果发票数量很多,这可能会花费大量时间和成本)。

将您的发票外包给代理融通公司。代理融通公司将购买您的发票,并着手追讨任何未支付的费用。它们可保护您免受不付款风险的影响,但它们也会拿走您的一部分利润,支付给您的费用会低于发票的面值。

使用自保险进行博弈。与其他所有降低信用风险的方式一样,理想情况下,您应先对客户进行评估再与其开始贸易关系。它们此前的贸易记录或其公司所在的地理政治区域是否预示着潜在的付款问题?如果是,与风险较低的客户贸易可能会较为安全。然而,即使风险看起来较低,贸易也仍然是一种博弈行为,因为一些企业有可能在毫无预警的情况下走向破产。

相关内容

风险地图

安卓风险地图是一份基于安卓的贸易信息资料库,从多角度高度概述全球多个国家/市场的信用风险水平的风向标类研究报告。

安卓中国

我们为当地和世界范围内有意愿与中国企业合作的企业提供信用管理咨询,贸易信用信息报告和账务管理服务。

什么是信用保险?

如果您的客户未能付款,贸易信用保险能够为您的业务提供保护。在许多情况下,信用保险公司可能承保最高 90% 的债务。信用保险保障通常适用于客户破产和政治风险等情况,但也能够拓展至保单条款中商定的其他诸多导致不付款的原因。