Why credit management is important?

Learn how good credit management helps prevent late payment and detects potential non-payment before it becomes a problem. Atradius China +8621 61608022.

The way you approach credit management can determine whether your business thrives or fails:

  • Overly cautious - you may miss out on important sales opportunities and your business may fail to grow
  • Too lax - you may miss the warning signs of a customer in trouble or even indications of fraud.

What is credit management?

Credit management is the function of granting credit terms and making sure money is collected when it becomes due. Good credit management promotes dialogue between finance and sales teams to create a balancing act where risk is minimised and opportunities maximised.

Chinese corporations are becoming more aggressive in expanding in the domestic market. Companies start to realize effective and efficient credit management measures to mitigate risks such as overdue payment is critical for the company's survival and expansion.

Trade credit can be a valuable business tool. Companies that allow payment to be made 30 days after delivery can be more attractive to some customers than businesses who requirement payment immediately. However, the risk of non-payment grows greater the longer the credit period is extended and the size of the sum involved could mean the difference between life and death for the business offering credit. Credit management seeks to mitigate risk while helping to make a business as attractive as possible to potential customers.

The pitfalls of poor credit management

According to business intelligence experts Graydon, over half of all bankruptcies can be attributed to poor credit management. Indeed, even profitable companies can struggle if they do not properly manage their accounts receivable. Without the working capital to invest in the business and settle with their own creditors, a business can quickly spiral into debt. It’s not just the slow payers that can impact on the cash flow of your business. Fraudsters will take any opportunity to exploit the offer of credit.

To avoid slow-payers, businesses teetering on the edge of insolvency and crooks looking to commit fraud you will need to practise due diligence. This means thoroughly checking every potential new client before signing a deal with them, and then maintaining contact with a robust monitoring system.

When you take out credit insurance with Atradius you will benefit from the due diligence and finance background checks that we do on your customers. We recommend you combine this intelligence with your own research before commencing trading relationships.

Related content

What is trade credit insurance?

Trade credit insurance guarantees cash flow. Learn how Atradius Credit Insurance protects business and promotes trade. Atradius China +86 21 61608022.

What is credit risk?

Credit risk is the danger of a business or person failing to pay the balance they owe. Learn how to minimise credit risk with Atradius China +86 21 61608022.

Credit Insurance

Product

With Atradius Credit Insurance you can trade with confidence and explore new markets or products, knowing that your business is protected against credit risk such as the insolvency of your customers.

Disclaimer

The statements made herein are provided solely for general informational purposes and should not be relied upon for any purpose. Please refer to the actual policy or the relevant product or services agreement for the governing terms. Nothing herein should be construed to create any right, obligation or responsibility on the part of Atradius, including any obligation to conduct due diligence of buyers or on your behalf. If Atradius does conduct due diligence on any buyer it is for its own underwriting purposes and not for the benefit of the insured or any other person. Additionally, in no event shall Atradius and its related, affiliated and subsidiary companies be liable for any direct, indirect, special, incidental, or consequential damages arising out of the use of the statements made information herein.

信用管理为何如此重要?

了解良好的信用管理如何预防延迟付款,并侦测潜在的坏账风险。实施信用管理的方式可能会决定公司走向繁荣还是衰败。

  • 过度谨慎 - 您可能会失去重要的商机,您的公司可能会无法成长
  • 过度松弛 - 您可能会忽略客户出现信用问题,甚至是欺诈行为的迹象。

信用管理是什么?

信用管理职能部门负责授予信用期限,并确保在账款到期时将其按时收回。良好的信用管理能够促进财务和销售团队之间的沟通和合作,以此形成一个低风险、同时确保不错失机会的平衡状态。

中国的企业正在更加积极地在国内市场扩张。这些公司开始实施有效、高效的信用管理措施,以此缓解逾期付款等风险,这对于公司的生存和扩张至关重要。

贸易信用是非常有价值的业务工具。对于某些客户来说,允许交货后 30 天付款的公司相比要求立即付款的公司更具吸引力。然而,信用期限越长,不付款的风险就越大,特别在账款所涉及的总额有时可能影响提供信用方企业的生死存亡的时候。信用管理致力于在减轻风险的同时帮助企业尽可能保持对潜在客户的吸引力。

信用管理水平低下带来的问题

根据商务情报专家公司 Graydon 的数据,一半以上的公司破产都可以归咎于其信用管理水平低下的问题。的确,即使是盈利能力较好的公司,如果无法适当管理其应收账款,也有可能遇到问题。如果没有用于业务投资和清算自身债务的周转资金,企业可能会很快陷入债务困境。会影响公司现金流的不仅仅是延迟付款的客户,诈骗犯也不会放过任何利用您提供的信用额度进行诈骗的机会。

为了防止延迟付款的客户、游走于破产边缘的企业和瞄准机会实施诈骗的犯罪者带来的困扰,您需要进行尽职调查。这意味着在与任何潜在的新客户签约前要对其进行彻底的调查,然后与强力的监察系统保持联系。

如果您使用安卓提供的信用保险,您即可享受到我们对客户进行尽职调查和财务背景调查的服务。我们建议您将此情报与您自身的调查相结合,然后再就启动与特定客户的贸易关系进行决策。

相关内容

什么是信用风险?

信用风险是一个术语,适用于将商品、服务或金钱借给任何人时的相关危险。

什么是信用保险?

如果您的客户未能付款,贸易信用保险能够为您的业务提供保护。在许多情况下,信用保险公司可能承保最高 90% 的债务。信用保险保障通常适用于客户破产和政治风险等情况,但也能够拓展至保单条款中商定的其他诸多导致不付款的原因。

安卓中国

我们为当地和世界范围内有意愿与中国企业合作的企业提供信用管理咨询,贸易信用信息报告和账务管理服务。